Return to Civil Services

Concealed Handgun License

Concealed Handgun Licenses (CHL) are available from the Sheriff and are effective for four years.

To see the requirements for obtaining a CHL and determine if you qualify please read the Concealed Handgun ORS

Please call (541) 963-1017 extension 382  or email chl@union-county.org if you have any questions about the application process.

To apply for a New CHL, follow this link to the Permitium website, https://unionor.permitium.com/ccw/start  and follow the application process for a new CHL. You will be able to upload all required documents, (driver’s license, birth certificate or passport or proof of naturalization (if you are not a natural born US citizen) along with your proof of a handgun training course. Once you have completed the application, uploaded all required documents and paid your fees you will be able to schedule an appointment time to be fingerprinted and have your photo taken. State law requires that applicants be 21 years of age, U.S. citizens, and residents of Union County. Further, you cannot be a convicted felon, have no misdemeanors in the past four years, and not be a respondent in a restraining or stalking order. The fees due at that time are:

*$115 to the Union County Sheriff

    • (This covers the costs of your background investigation, processing the application and processing the fingerprints required by state law)

Oregon law requires that you be able to demonstrate competency with a handgun by completing a handgun safety course either in person or on-line. The course must be an NRA certified training course or other accredited handgun safety course. The Sheriff’s Office sponsors a class from time to time, and the office maintains a list of prospective students. To see a list of qualified instructors in our area follow this link Concealed Handgun Class Instructors.

Although state law allows for up to 45 days to complete the permit process, we try to clear permit applications in a few weeks. You will receive your new permit in the mail.

********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Out of State Concealed Handgun Licenses

We get many inquiries from people from outside the state about obtaining an Oregon Concealed Handgun License.

Oregon law does allow us to issue a permit to residents of contiguous states. It states;” The Sheriff may waive the residency requirement in subsection (1)(c) of this section for a resident of a contiguous state who has a compelling business interest or other legitimate demonstrated need”. This means you must own a business or own property in Union County to be issued a permit and be able to provide proof.

If you currently have an Oregon permit and wish to renew you must also meet the same criteria or we will not be able to renew your permit.

If you meet those criteria and all other requirements of Oregon Concealed Handgun law you may e-mail Sheriff Bowen at cbowen@union-county.org and request that he allow you to apply for an Oregon Concealed Handgun license through our county. Once you have his permission you may, follow this link to the Permitium website, https://unionor.permitium.com/ccw/start  and follow the application process for a new CHL. You will be able to upload all required documents, (driver’s license, birth certificate or passport or proof of naturalization (if you are not a natural born US citizen), proof of ownership of property or a business in Union County, along with your proof of a handgun training course. Once you have completed the application, uploaded all required documents and paid your fees you will be able to schedule an appointment time to be fingerprinted and have your photo taken. State law requires that applicants be 21 years of age, U.S. citizens, and residents of Union County. Further, you cannot be a convicted felon, have no misdemeanors in the past four years, and not be a respondent in a restraining or stalking order. The fees due at that time are: $115

***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

RENEWALS

It’s important to renew your expiring concealed weapon permit within 45 days of expiration. Renewals are $75, and are good for four years.

Please follow this link to the Permitium website, https://unionor.permitium.com/ccw/start  and follow the application process for a Renewal CHL. You will be able to upload all required documents, (driver’s license and current or expired CHL). Once you have completed the application, uploaded all required documents and paid your fees you will receive email updates so you know where your application is at in the process.

If you are transferring from another county in Oregon and need to renew the fee is $90 and you will have to schedule an appointment to be fingerprinted and photographed.

We will send you a letter shortly before your permit expiration to allow plenty of time for renewal.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Your should notify us promptly of a change of address for your concealed weapon permit. The cost for this change of address is $15 if you are changing your address in Union County. If you move to Union County from another county you must be fingerprinted and the fee is $30; $15 for the address change and $15 to process the fingerprints.

Please follow this link to the Permitium website, https://unionor.permitium.com/ccw/start  and follow the application process for a Change of Address You will be able to upload all required documents, (driver’s license, current CHL and proof of new address (if not on your driver’s license).