Patrol Division


Union County covers 2,038 square miles and The Sheriff’s Office is the primary law enforcement agency for the entire county.  Patrol deputies are the primary law enforcement agency for the communities of Island City, Imbler, Summerville, Cove, Elgin, Union and North Powder and all outlying areas of the county. Deputies are also available to assist the La Grande Police Department when requested. The Patrol Division is staffed with 13 Full Time Deputies. 5 Special Deputies, two part time Animal Control Officers and a part time Marine Deputy who are responsible for:

  • Drug Task Force
  • School Resource Deputies
  • Domestic Violence Help and Investigations
  • Forest Patrol
  • Marine Patrol
  • K-9 Unit
  • Animal Control

If you are interested in a career in law enforcement or are interested in seeing how the Sheriff’s Office operates fill out a Ride-Along form and turn it into the main office. If you are under the age of 18 you must have a parent or guardian sign the form.