Return to Patrol Division

Animal Control

Animal Control is a division of the Sheriff’s Office. Animal Control provides services to rural Union County and the cities of Imbler, Cove, North Powder, Summerville, Union, Elgin and Island City. La Grande contracts 50% of the time of the Animal Control Officer and pays into the budget for Animal Control.

Services include, but are not limited to, investigation of possible animal abuse or neglect, capture of loose dogs or livestock, removal of dead domestic animals from the roadways, issuing citations  for violations of the county ordinance or state law.

To contact Animal Control, call the Sheriff’s Office at 963-1017 or come to the office at 1109 K Ave., La Grande. To make a complaint by mail or e-mail fill out an Animal Complaint Form.

Quick References

The Animal Shelter-serves Union, Baker, Wallowa, Grant and Umatilla Counties by providing a safe haven for unwanted pets.

Detail Guidelines